Jump to Content


March 5, 2007

Apr. 13: Hans Linde to receive 2007 Frohnmayer Award for Public Service

April 13: 2007 Frohnmayer Award for Public Service
Hans and Helen Linde 
Hans Linde
Perceptive, sharp and imaginative, Justice Linde has been a leading theorist in state court protection of individual rights.
 Former Oregon Supreme Court Justice Hans Linde, a pioneering figure in state constitutional law, will receive the 2007 Frohnmayer Award for public service at a Portland banquet on Friday, April 13 at 7 p.m. in the Embassy Suites, 319 SW Pine Street. 

Linde was a University of Oregon law professor in 1954 and from 1959 to 1976.

Robert Summers, an internationally known legal scholar at Cornell and a former UO law faculty member, remembered his colleague in a 1984 tribute to Linde. “He became the most distinguished author ever to serve on the Oregon law faculty and one of the top half dozen constitutional law figures in the entire country.”

Linde went on to become one of the most influential — and most cited — state judges in America in his thirteen years on the Oregon Supreme Court. He retired in 1990.

“Hans Linde understood the importance of interpreting the Oregon Constitution separately from its federal counterpart, said law professor Tom Lininger. “He helped Oregon to develop a distinctive jurisprudence that matched the independent character of our state.”

Ninth Circuit Court Senior Judge Alfred “Ted”  Goodwin ’51, a previous Frohnmayer Award recipient, said of Linde, “Many a time he reminded his colleagues that ’nowhere in the United States constitution does it say that the state shall not guarantee their citizens greater civil rights than the Constitution guarantees.’ ”

The Frohnmayer Award is given each year in Portland by the UO School of Law Alumni Association. It recognizes a graduate, faculty member, or friend whose public service brings honor to the school.

This year’s event is cosponsored by The Commerce Bank of Oregon, Bridge City Legal and Willamette Valley Vineyards.
Tickets for the reception and dinner cost $85. Tables for 10 are available for $1,000. Call (541) 346-3970 or email Rachel Johnson, raj@uoregon.edu.

The Frohnmayer Award recipients

2002 Dave Frohnmayer
University of Oregon President
(Story on page 2, 2002 Oregon Lawyer Annual at Oregon Lawyer home page)
2003 Hardy Myers ’64
Oregon Attorney General  

(Story on page 30, 2003 Oregon Lawyer Annual at Oregon Lawyer home page) 

2004 Alfred “Ted” Goodwin ’51
Senior judge, U.S. Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals

(Story on page 4, 2004 Oregon Lawyer Annual at Oregon Lawyer home page )

2005 Lawrence “Lare” Aschenbrenner ’57
Native American Rights Fund, Alaska. Oregon’s first public defender 

Multnomah County Circuit Court judge


Bookmark and Share

Oregon Law » Newsroom » Apr. 13: Hans Linde to receive 2007 Frohnmayer Award for Public Service
Careers Privacy Policy About Find People © University of Oregon. All rights Reserved.