Jump to Content


April 7, 2008

Oregon Law Distinguished Professor Emeritus Rennard Strickland To Receive Meritorious Service Award

Oregon Law Distinguished Professor Emeritus Rennard Strickland will be awarded the University of Oregon School of Law Meritorious Service Award at the school’s 2008 graduation ceremonies.  Established by the law school faculty in 1984, the award is given annually “to a person or persons who have made extraordinary contributions to legal education and the law.”  

A legal historian of Osage and Cherokee heritage, Distinguished Professor Emeritus Strickland is considered a pioneer in introducing Indian law into university curriculum.  He has written and edited more than 35 books and is frequently cited by courts and scholars for his work as revision editor in chief of the Handbook of Federal Indian Law.  He has been involved in the resolution of a number of significant Indian cases and was the founding director of the Center for the Study of American Indian Law and Policy at the University of Oklahoma.  Distinguished Professor Emeritus Strickland is also the first person to serve as both president of the Association of American Law Schools and chair of the Law School Admissions Council, and the only person to have received both the Society of American Law Teachers Award and the American Bar Association’s Spirit of Excellence Award.  Distinguished Professor Emeritus Strickland served as Oregon Law’s dean from 1997 to 2002.  

Previous Meritorious Service award recipients include:
2007 – The Hon. Dorothy W. Nelson
2006 – The Hon. Wallace P. Carson, Jr., Phyllis Barkhurst
2005 – Alice Plymell
2004 – The Hon. Stephen Reinhardt, Senator Ron Wyden
2003 – The Hon. Ellen Rosenblum
2002 – Norman Wiener, Minoru Yasui
2001 – Ray and Lois Ackerman
2000 – The Hon. Helen Frye
1999 – The Hon. Sandra Day O’Connor, Professor Emeritus Frank R. Lacy
1998 – Hardy Myers
1997 – Wendell Wyatt
1996 – Otto Frohnmayer, Noreen (Saltveit) McGraw
1995 – Oglesby Young, Anthony Yturri
1994 – Arthur Johnson, Sidney Lezak
1993 – Jeannette Hayner, John Luvaas, Eugene Scoles
1992 – John Jaqua, Frank Nash
1991 – Chapin Clark
1990 – John Van Landingham
1989 – The Hon. Aldred T. Goodwin, The Hon. Edwin Peterson
1988 – The Hon. Roland Rodman, The Hon. Richard Unis
1987 – Richardson Nahstoll
1986 – The Hon. Hans Linde
1985 – Lois Baker, The Hon. Kenneth O’Connell
1984 – William East, Orlando J. Hollis

Bookmark and Share

Oregon Law » Newsroom » Oregon Law Distinguished Professor Emeritus Rennard Strickland To Receive Meritorious Service Award
Careers Privacy Policy About Find People © University of Oregon. All rights Reserved.