Jump to Content


October 22, 2008

Professors Maurice Holland and Dominick Vetri Awarded Emeritus Status

Oregon Law professors Maurice Holland and Dominick Vetri have been awarded emeritus status by the University of Oregon’s Office of the Senior Vice President and Provost. The award was made based on the unanimous recommendation of the law school faculty.

Professor Dom Vetri
Professor Maurice Holland

Oregon Law Dean Margie Paris expressed the law school’s gratitude for the service Professor Holland and Professor Vetri have provided to the school throughout their tenures.

“We are deeply grateful for the many contributions you have made to our students, faculty, and staff — as well as to the university, the legal profession, and the world. May we enjoy your wisdom for a long time to come!”

Professor Holland’s professional career spans work as an associate at Herrick, Smith, Donald, Farley & Ketchum in Boston; as a teaching fellow at Harvard Law School; and a distinguished career at Indiana University School of Law. In 1986 he joined the Oregon Law faculty as dean and assumed full-time teaching responsibilities in 1992. He is executive director of the Oregon Council on Court Procedures and holds a Ph.D. in English legal history.

Professor Vetri held a trial court clerkship with Chief Judge Harold Kolovsky of the New Jersey Superior Court and worked with the New Jersey law firm of Meyner & Wiley before joining the Oregon Law faculty in 1967. Professor Vetri, a specialist in torts, developed the law school’s Civil Law Clinic, in conjunction with Lane County Legal Services, Inc., and along with several students, created the school’s original Moot Court program. In September, Professor Vetri received Oregon Law’s Public Interest Public Service Program’s first Champion of the Public Interest Award, which is now the Dom Vetri Champion of the Public Interest Award.

Bookmark and Share

Oregon Law » Newsroom » Professors Maurice Holland and Dominick Vetri Awarded Emeritus Status
Careers Privacy Policy About Find People © University of Oregon. All rights Reserved.