Jump to Content


April 6, 2009

Barbara Aldave to Receive 2009 Frohnmayer Award for Public Service April 17

The University of Oregon Law School Alumni Association (“LSAA”) will present Barbara Aldave, director of Oregon Law’s Center for Law and Entrepreneurship and Loran L. Stewart Professor of Business Law, with the 2009 Frohnmayer Award for Public Service. Professor Barbara Aldave

Professor Aldave is an expert in business law, which she has taught for nearly 40 years at Oregon Law and several other top law schools, including Berkeley, Northeastern, Boston College, and Cornell. Professor Aldave’s distinguished career also has included the deanship of St. Mary’s University School of Law. In 2000, when Professor Aldave returned to Oregon Law — the school where she began her academic career — she was appointed director of the Center for Law and Entrepreneurship.

Although her academic specialty is business, Professor Aldave has an equal passion for the public interest. Most notably, Professor Aldave is a founder of The Portia Project, a program that provides legal assistance to prison inmates, with a particular focus on assisting incarcerated women and their children both during the term of their imprisonment and following their release.

Professor Aldave’s extensive resume includes participation in numerous social justice organizations, including Amnesty International, Bread For the World, the Gray Panthers, the National Coalition To Abolish the Death Penalty, NETWORK: A National Catholic Social Justice Lobby, the Oregon Coastal Preservation Coalition, Pax Christi, the American Constitution Society, and the Equal Justice Society.
Professor Aldave’s efforts to educate future lawyers, to support the work of Oregon’s entrepreneurs, and to champion the cause of justice are a credit to the school and to the legal community. The LSAA is honored to recognize her as the recipient of the 8th Annual Frohnmayer Award for Public Service.
The event will take place on Friday, April 17, 2009 at the Embassy Suites at 319 SW Pine St in Portland.
The Frohnmayer Award, named for the family of outgoing University of Oregon President Dave Frohnmayer (who retires from his position on June 30, 2009), recognizes a graduate, faculty member or friend of Oregon Law whose public service brings honor to the school.
Previous Frohnmayer Award Recipients:

2007 – Hans Linde

2006 – Clifford Freeman ’76

2005 – Lawrence “Lare” Aschenbrenner ’57

2004 – Alfred “Ted” Goodwin ’51

2003 – Hardy Myers ’64

2002 – Dave Frohnmayer

Bookmark and Share

Oregon Law » Newsroom » Barbara Aldave to Receive 2009 Frohnmayer Award for Public Service April 17
Careers Privacy Policy About Find People © University of Oregon. All rights Reserved.