Jump to Content


April 13, 2010

Hon. Ellen Rosenblum and Richard Meeker to Receive 2010 Frohnmayer Award for Public Service April 16

For the first time in its history, The University of Oregon Law School Alumni Association (LSAA) will honor two individuals with the Frohnmayer Award for Public Service. The Hon. Ellen Rosenblum ’75 and Richard Meeker ’74 are the 2010 recipients of this distinguished award for their tireless efforts on behalf of the Portland community and the state of Oregon.

Judge Rosenblum has served on the Oregon Court of Appeals bench for close to five years, and served on the Multnomah County Circuit Court bench for 22 years prior. She has and continues to give generously of her time and expertise to the legal community. She has served on the ABA House of Delegates, the Oregon Judicial Conference, the Campaign for Equal Justice Advisory Committee, the board of the LSAA, and many other esteemed organizations. Judge Rosenblum has received numerous accolades for her work, including the Oregon Women Lawyers Justice Betty Roberts Award, the Distinguished Alumnus Award from the UO College of Arts & Sciences, and the Oregon Law Meritorious Service Award.

Mr. Meeker is the publisher of Willamette Week, the only weekly newspaper ever to win the Pulitzer Prize for Investigative Reporting (2005). In addition to winning more journalism awards in Oregon than any other non-daily newspaper, WW has raised and donated thousands of dollars for the benefit of Portland non-profits through its annual Give!Guide. Mr. Meeker serves on the Dean’s Advisory Council and is the former president of the LSAA.

The award ceremony will take place on Friday, April 16, 2010 at the Embassy Suites at 319 SW Pine Street in Portland.

The Frohnmayer Award, named for the family of University of Oregon President Emeritus Dave Frohnmayer, recognizes a graduate, faculty member, or friend of Oregon Law whose public service brings honor to the school.

Previous Frohnmayer Award Recipients:

2009 – Barbara Aldave

2008 – Edwin Peterson ’57

2007 – Hans Linde

2006 – Clifford Freeman ’76

2005 – Lawrence “Lare” Aschenbrenner ’57

2004 – Alfred “Ted” Goodwin ’51

2003 – Hardy Myers ’64

2002 – Dave Frohnmayer

Bookmark and Share

Oregon Law » Newsroom » Hon. Ellen Rosenblum and Richard Meeker to Receive 2010 Frohnmayer Award for Public Service April 16
Careers Privacy Policy About Find People © University of Oregon. All rights Reserved.