Jump to Content


April 18, 2011

Professor Suzanne Rowe to receive 2011 Orlando Hollis Teaching Award

Oregon Law congratulates Professor Suzanne Rowe, director of the school’s Legal Research and Writing program, who was chosen to receive the 20101 Orlando J. Hollis Teaching Award. The Hollis Award is the law school’s highest teaching honor. Professor Suzanne Rowe

Professor Rowe is the author of five books on legal research, and she is the editor of the Legal Research Series published by Carolina Academic Press. Professor Rowe writes a monthly column, “The Legal Writer,” in the Oregon State Bar Bulletin, which takes a fresh look at writing problems.

Rowe has held major positions in the most prestigious legal writing organizations. In 2010, she completed her service on the Board of Directors of the Legal Writing Institute. She is a past-chair of the AALS Section on Legal Writing, Reasoning, and Research, and she served on the Board of Directors of the Association of Legal Writing Directors (ALWD). She is the chair of the American Bar Association’s Communication Skills Committee for the 2009-11 term.

The Law School Personnel Committee unanimously selected Professor Rowe for this year’s award based on the criteria of peer teaching reviews, student teaching evaluations, committee members’ knowledge of the nominee’s teaching, numbers of nominations and the substance of the nominations.

One peer reviewer noted, Professor Rowe is “a dynamic and organized teacher who clearly enjoys her time with her students. [Her students] matched her enthusiasm and efficient conduct of the class with rapt attention.” A student nominator noted further that “she is a tireless teacher and mentor for her students. She demands a lot from [them] and they rise to the challenge.”

Professor Rowe will receive the Hollis Award during the law school’s commencement exercises on Saturday, May 21.

Bookmark and Share

Oregon Law » Newsroom » Professor Suzanne Rowe to receive 2011 Orlando Hollis Teaching Award
Careers Privacy Policy About Find People © University of Oregon. All rights Reserved.