Jump to Content


February 26, 2013

Honorable David Schuman ’84 to Receive Meritorious Service Award

The University of Oregon School of Law has selected the Honorable David Schuman ‘84, judge for the Oregon Court of Appeals, to receive its 2013 Meritorious Service Award. The award, established in 1984, is bestowed annually to individuals who have made significant contributions to legal education and the legal field. Schuman will be honored with the award during Oregon Law’s 2013 commencement ceremony on May 18. 

Schuman’s influence has made a salient impact on Oregon Law. Prior to attending Oregon Law in 1981, Schuman had a background in education, teaching college English for 13 years. Upon graduating from Oregon Law in 1984, Schuman clerked for now-retired Oregon Supreme Court Justice Hans Linde for a year before practicing law as Assistant Attorney General in the Appellate Division of the Oregon Department of Justice, and later as Deputy Attorney General within the same division. In 2001, Schuman became an appeals judge for the state, a position he has occupied for 12 years.

Schuman never forgot his teaching roots, however, and throughout his legal career taught classes at his law school alma mater, where he was recognized for his work with the Ersted Award for Distinguished Teaching. Schuman also published articles in journals, newspapers and periodicals such as the Michigan Law Review, the Vermont Law Review, the American Criminal Law Review, the Temple Law Review, The Washington Post, The Oregonian, The Chronicle of Higher Education and the Oregon Law Review. Perhaps his biggest contribution to legal education, Schuman served as Associate Dean for Academic Affairs from 1994 through 1996, where he lead the school in providing personal and academic student advising services and acted as a key facilitator in the drafting and reformation of university legislation regarding students. From 2010 through 2012 he was Vice President of the Oregon Law Alumni Association Board.

Originally from Glencoe, Ill., Schuman received his B.A. from Stanford in 1966, his M.A. from San Francisco State University in 1968, and a Ph.D. in English Literature in 1974 from the University of Chicago. He graduated with a J.D. from Oregon Law in 1984.

Previous Meritorious Service award recipients include:

2012 – The Hon. Procter Hug Jr.
2011 – The Hon. Martha Walters, James O’Fallon
2010 – Mary Lawrence, Carolyn Chambers
2009 – Mervyn Loya
2008 – Rennard Strickland
2007 – The Hon. Dorothy W. Nelson
2006 – The Hon. Wallace P. Carson, Jr., Phyllis Barkhurst
2005 – Alice Plymell
2004 – The Hon. Stephen Reinhardt, Senator Ron Wyden
2003 – Ellen Rosenblum
2002 – Norman Wiener, Minoru Yasui
2001 – Ray and Lois Ackerman
2000 – The Hon. Helen Frye
1999 – The Hon. Sandra Day O’Connor, Professor Emeritus Frank R. Lacy
1998 – Hardy Myers
1997 – Wendell Wyatt
1996 – Otto Frohnmayer, Noreen (Saltveit) McGraw
1995 – Oglesby Young, Anthony Yturri
1994 – Arthur Johnson, Sidney Lezak
1993 – Jeannette Hayner, John Luvaas, Eugene Scoles
1992 – John Jaqua, Frank Nash
1991 – Chapin Clark
1990 – John Van Landingham
1989 – The Hon. Alfred T. Goodwin, The Hon. Edwin Peterson
1988 – The Hon. Roland Rodman, The Hon. Richard Unis
1987 – Richardson Nahstoll
1986 – The Hon. Hans Linde
1985 – Lois Baker, The Hon. Kenneth O’Connell
1984 – William East, Orlando J. Hollis 

Bookmark and Share

Oregon Law » Newsroom » Honorable David Schuman ’84 to Receive Meritorious Service Award
Careers Privacy Policy About Find People © University of Oregon. All rights Reserved.