Jump to Content


June 13, 2013

Oregon Law associate dean receives UO Fund for Faculty Excellence Award

Adell Amos is among 14 UO faculty members chosen for award

Oregon Law Associate Professor and Associate Dean for Academic Affairs Adell Amos is among the 14 outstanding members of the University of Oregon faculty who have been selected to receive the Fund for Faculty Excellence Awards for Academic Year 2013-14. 

The Fund for Faculty Excellence is designed to support the university's strategic commitment to enhancing academic quality and reputation by supporting, recognizing, and retaining world-class faculty. The recipients of this honor are chosen on the basis of their standing and impact within their respective fields or disciplines, their contributions to program and institutional quality at the UO, and their academic leadership.

"She brings her experiences in the field to the classroom and then takes classroom learnings back to the field," Oregon Law Dean Michael Moffitt said. "She provides a unique perspective both to our students and to our policymakers."

Dean Amos returned to the School of Law in 2011 after serving in Washington, D.C., for two years as Deputy Solicitor for Land and Water Resources in the United States Department of the Interior. Dean Amos initially joined the law school faculty after practicing environmental and natural resources law with the Solicitor's Office, Division of Parks and Wildlife at the Department of the Interior. She represented and advised the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service and the National Park Service on state and federal water rights issues including work involving the Klamath, Snake, Columbia, Middle Rio Grande, and Gunnison River Basins. She provided legal advice on the interaction of water law with other environmental statutes including the Endangered Species Act, Clean Water Act, Federal Power Act, and National Environmental Policy Act.

Dean Amos earned her B.A. in 1995 from Drury College and her J.D. in 1998 from the University of Oregon, graduating Order of the Coif. In 2009 she received Oregon Law's Orlando Hollis Teaching Award for excellence in teaching and was selected as the 2009-10 Wayne Morse Resident Scholar from the law school.

Bookmark and Share

Oregon Law » Newsroom » Oregon Law associate dean receives UO Fund for Faculty Excellence Award
Careers Privacy Policy About Find People © University of Oregon. All rights Reserved.