Jump to Content


Oregon Law’s 2013-14 Frohnmayer Award for Public Service Recipients Announced

The University of Oregon School of Law is pleased to announce that the Frohnmayer Award for Public Service, recognizing a graduate, faculty member, or friend of Oregon Law whose public service brings honor to the school, will be given to Oregon Supreme Court Justice Martha Walters and longtime Legal Aid Attorney John VanLandingham. Register Today.

The Honorable Martha Walters
The Honorable Martha Walters earned her undergraduate degree from the University of Michigan with distinction, and her law degree from the University of Oregon School of Law, where she graduated Order of the Coif in 1977. She is a State of Oregon Supreme Court Justice.

Prior to joining the Oregon Supreme Court, Justice Walters was a lawyer in private practice. She initially worked for the firm of Johnson, Harrang & Mercer and continued to work for that firm, or various iterations of that firm, until she and Les Swanson formed the firm of Swanson & Walters in 1985. Justice Walters also co-founded the Eugene law firm, Walters, Romm & Chanti, PC in 1992, and practiced employment, civil rights and municipal law there until her appointment to the bench in 2006.

Justice Walters is a member of the National Employment Lawyers Association, Federal Bar Association, Oregon Women Lawyers, and American Law Institute. She is a Fellow of the Fellows of the American Bar Foundation and American College of Trial Lawyers. She has served in a number of roles for the National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws and was its president from 2007 to 2009 – the first woman in that prestigious office.

John VanLandingham
John VanLandingham is one of the longest serving lawyers for Lane County Legal Aid & Advocacy Center. He earned his undergraduate degree from the Virginia Military Institute and his J.D. from Oregon Law in 1977. Mr. VanLandingham is the recipient of the 2011 Lane County Bar Association Distinguished Service Award. He has chaired and serves on the Oregon Land Conservation and Development Commission, the Eugene Planning Commissions, and the Housing Policy Board for Lane County and the cities of Eugene and Springfield. He is active with the Oregon Housing Alliance, and the Fair Housing Council of Oregon, as well as Looking Glass (nonprofit serving at-risk youth) and many other nonprofits and public committees.

This year's award ceremony will be held on Friday, November 8, 2013, at the Portland Downtown Embassy Suites. Register Today.

Oregon Law » Alumni » Law School Alumni Association » Frohnmayer Award for Public Service » Oregon Law’s 2013-14 Frohnmayer Award for Public Service Recipients Announced
Careers Privacy Policy About Find People © University of Oregon. All rights Reserved.