Jump to Content
Apply Today


John E. Jaqua Distinguished Alumnus Award

The Jaqua Distinguished Alumnus Award is presented by the Law School Alumni Association and is given to individuals who exemplify the highest quality and ethical standards of the school. The award recognizes personal and professional achievements and loyalty to Oregon Law. The LSAA named the Distinguished Alumnus Award after its first recipient, the late John E. Jaqua, in 2007.

Nominations are solicited by the LSAA and a committee of Oregon Law alumni selects the annual recipient.

2013: Hon. Alfred T. Goodwin '51 Alfred Goodwin

The Honorable Alfred Theodore "Ted" Goodwin is well known for his impartiality and pragmatism as a judge. As a former newspaper reporter, he developed a matter-of-fact writing style that has served him well in his legal and judicial career. After becoming a state court judge, Goodwin transferred his Army Reserve commission from Infantry to the Judge Advocate General Corps, from which he retired after becoming a federal judge. After Judge Goodwin’s nine years as a Justice on the Oregon Supreme Court, President Nixon, at Senator Hatfield’s suggestion, nominated Judge Goodwin to the U.S. District Court of Oregon. In 1971, he was elevated to the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit. He was Chief Judge from 1988 through 1991. He became a senior judge in 1992 and continues to hear cases throughout the Circuit.

2011: William Wheatley '59 

Alumnus Bill Wheatley received the 2011 Jaqua Distinguished Alumnus Award. Along with John Jaqua, Wheatley founded the Eugene firm Jaqua & Wheatley, LLC, that continues to serve the legal needs of Oregonians today. In addition to working professionally with the award’s namesake, Wheatley has been active in the Oregon State Bar, he has served as Chairman of the Board of Bar Examiners, speaking at seminars, and authoring Continuing Legal Education (CLE) articles. Wheatley’s notable career is further illustrated by the fact that his name has been included in every edition of the Best Lawyers in America since the first edition in 1977.

2009: Hon. David Brewer '77 

Hon. David Brewer received the third annual John E. Jaqua Distinguished Alumnus Award on Friday, November 13, 2009. Judge Brewer was honored for his lifetime dedication to Oregon Law and the legal community. Judge Brewer has served as the Chief Judge of the Oregon Court of Appeals since 2004, and has been a judge on the court since 1999. Prior to his elevation to the appellate court, Judge Brewer sat on the Lane County Circuit Court from 1993-99. Before that, he ran a practice in Eugene concentrating in civil litigation, family law, commercial law, probate, and real property law.

2008: Vernon Gleaves '51  

Vernon Gleaves received the second annual John E. Jaqua Distinguished Alumnus Award. Among his countless noteworthy accomplishments, Gleaves served as a member of a small group of attorneys who instituted the first Lane County Volunteer Legal Services Program; assisted in the formation of the Eugene Hearing and Speech Center as a nonprofit corporation; was a founding director of the Oregon Law Foundation; and a member of the committee that established the Oregon Law Foundation Endowment Fund.

2007: John E. Jaqua '50 

John Jaqua was the first recipient of the Distinguished Alumnus Award for his lifetime of dedication to the law school and the legal community. At the event, it was announced that in future years, the award would be known as the "John E. Jaqua Distinguished Alumnus Award." Jaqua passed away May 14, 2009, at the age of 88. He is remembered for his unparalleled service to the University of Oregon and Eugene community. Read more about Oregon Law's longtime friend here.

Oregon Law » Alumni » Law School Alumni Association » John E. Jaqua Distinguished Alumnus Award