Jump to Content
Apply Today

Oregon Law
Posts by erickh

Oregon Law Tax Moot Court team competes in national competition

The University of Oregon School of Law Tax Moot Court team advanced to the final round of the National Tax Moot Court Competition claiming the title of Best Brief earlier this month. Teammates Heidi Bowerman, Vanessa Rich and Trevor Gates performed exceptionally and received great reviews from the judging panel.

Oregon Law Tax Moot Court TeamSponsored by the Tax Section of the Florida Bar Association, the competition provided 16 teams of law students from across the nation with an opportunity to demonstrate their proficiency in oral advocacy and brief writing. The competition consisted of a double round elimination oral argument followed by single eliminations quarterfinals, semifinal and final rounds. A panel of attorneys, who are members of the Florida Bar Tax Section, judged the preliminary rounds, and the assessment of the final rounds consisted of judges from the United States Tax Court.

The Tax Court judges who judged the final round of competition commented that, “Vanessa had the judges convinced that she was actually corporate counsel representing the taxpayer.” The judges also called Trevor, “intense… projects confidence,” and “implacable.” Heidi also argued to victory twice in earlier rounds and got great comments from the judging panel.

Bowerman, Gates, and Rich began preparing for the competition last December. After writing their award-winning brief over winter break, in January they began intensive preparation for the oral advocacy portion of the competition. They honed their arguments by practicing three to four times per week, first with their coach, Oregon Law Professor Roberta Mann, and later before practice judges. Professor Mann arranged for the students to practice in front of local practitioners and former competitors to provide them with ample opportunities to refine their arguments. Two of the three team members were also taught Legal Research and Writing techniques by Professor and Director of Clinics and Externships Megan McAlpin.

“I couldn’t be more proud of Trevor, Vanessa and Heidi," said Professor Mann. "As I tell all of my moot court students, the preparation has as much or more value as the results of the competition itself. That being said, I just couldn’t stop smiling when the team did so well. Their hard work really paid off.” 

All three students are especially grateful to Professor Mann for playing an instrumental role in their success throughout their education thus far. They consider her a driving force in furthering their interest in tax law, both individually and as a team related to the competition.

Oregon Law announces 2013 Order of the Coif

The University of Oregon School of Law is pleased to congratulate the 17 members of the Class of 2013 who have been elected to Order of the Coif. Elizabeth Brown ranked first in the class.

Considered one of the highest honors a law student can receive, the Order of the Coif is a national honor society for law school graduates at member institutions. To gain membership into the order, a student must earn a J.D. and a grade point average that places him or her in the top 10 percent of the graduating class. The UO School of Law is the only law school in Oregon with membership in Order of the Coif.

The complete list of Oregon Law’s Order of the Coif graduates (in alphabetical order) includes:

Jessica Bloomfield

Alexandra Bodnar

Elizabeth Brown

Jonathan Frohnmayer

Kellen Holgate

Jonathan Hood

Brittany Mahugh

Travis Mahugh

Anna Makowski

Alyson McCormick

Jamison McCune

Matthew Mertens

Sara Miller

Jason Nelson-Elting

Gabrielle Thompson

Amanda Van Wieren

Kirk Wintermute

Please join Oregon Law in congratulating its Class of 2013 members elected to the Order of the Coif.

Oregon Law » Posts by erickh