ALERT FOR 1LS: Register Soon for Some Bar Exams
Published in the November 1, 2011, Advisor
If you know where you plan to take the bar exam, research that state’s requirements now. Some jurisdictions require law students to register during their first year of law school to avoid late fees. (Oregon and Washington do not require early registration.)
For example, in Illinois, law student registration is recommended during the first year of law school. The filing fee is $100 before March 1 of the first year of law school; after that date, the fee increases to $450. And for those who registered as a 1L, the bar exam fee is $250, $500, or $1,000, depending on when during a student’s 3L year the individual applies. Those who did not register as a 1L must pay $700, $950, or $1,450 to take the exam.
Similarly, in Florida, 1Ls are encouraged to register during the first year of law school. The Florida registration schedules calls for a $100 fee by January 15; a $350 fee by March 15; and a $400 fee after March 15. The bar exam fee for law students who filed an early registration is $600; the exam fee is $1,000 for those who did not file an early registration.
So if you know where you want to practice, check the registration requirements of that jurisdiction now.