Jump to Content

Oregon Lawyer Online

Michelle McKinley named Bernard B. Kliks Professor of Law

University of Oregon School of Law Dean Michael Moffitt has named Associate Professor Michelle McKinley the Bernard B. Kliks Professor of Law.

The Bernard B. Kliks Professorship is awarded to law school faculty with demonstrated strength in teaching, high ethical standards, and having made significant contributions to the legal community. 

Each year, the school's faculty advisory committee on chairs meets with the dean to determine how the coming year's available professorships and fellowships should be filled. The committee wholeheartedly recommended Professor McKinley for the professorship based on the merit of her teaching, research, and commitment to Oregon Law.

"Michelle is an acclaimed scholar, an innovative teacher, an active member of important national professional societies, and a generous member of our law school and university community," Dean Moffitt said in his announcement to the law school community.

Professor McKinley has garnered national and international recognition for her work since joining the Oregon Law faculty in 2007. A former Dean's Distinguished Faculty Fellow, McKinley received the American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS) fellowship, July 2012-May 2013. The prestigious, and competitive, ACLS Fellowship is awarded to researchers in all disciplines of humanities and related social sciences. She also was awarded the 2011 Surrency Prize from the American Society for Legal History.

A graduate of Wellesley College, Harvard Law School, and Oxford University, McKinley has received honors and grants from the National Endowment for Humanities, the National Science Foundation, and the American Philosophical Society, among others. She is the founder and former director of the Amazonian Peoples' Resources Initiative; a community-based reproductive rights organization in Peru.

New and continued Oregon Law professorships for the 2013-14 academic year include:

Carl Bjerre Wallace L. and Ellen A. Kaapcke Professor of Business Law
John Bonine Bernard B. Kliks Professor of Law
Caroline Forell Clayton R. Hess Professor of Law
Susan Gary Orlando John and Marian H. Hollis Professor of Law
Ibrahim Gassama James O & Alfred T. Goodwin Senior Faculty Fellow
Leslie Harris Dorothy Kliks Fones Professor of Law
Dick Hildreth Frank E. Nash Professor of Law
Rob Illig Dean's Distinguished Faculty Fellow
Tom Lininger Orlando John and Marian H. Hollis Professor of Law
Roberta Mann Mr. and Mrs. L.L. Stewart Professor of Business Law
Ofer Raban Elmer Sahlstrom Senior Faculty Fellow
Suzanne Rowe James L. and Ilene R. Hershner Professor of Jurisprudence
Nancy Shurtz B.A. Kliks Professor of Law
Merle Weiner Philip H. Knight Professor of Law
Mary Wood Philip H. Knight Professor of Law

Oregon Law » Oregon Lawyer Online » Summer 2013 » Michelle McKinley named Bernard B. Kliks Professor of Law
Careers Privacy Policy About Find People © University of Oregon. All rights Reserved.