Calendar


November 2019
SMTWTFS
27 28 29 30 31 1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30

 
 Submit an Event


Wednesday, November 6, 2019

APALSA Meeting
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
Room 281
Contact: Rachelle Collins • rcollin2@uoregon.edu
Lunchtime check in - get to know APALSA, check in with your peers, study between classes, etc. All are welcome.
GLAD Volunteer Info Session [Immigration Pro Bono]
12:00 pm - 1:00 pm
141
Contact: Andi Pla • apla@uoregon.edu
Grupo Latino de Acción Directa serves to promote Latino interests and provide free informational and educational services to community members. GLAD also provides immigration services to those facing imminent danger of deportation. There is a quick training for volunteers, flexible hours and only request a commitment of one day a week. There are some opportunities to help with legal research as well, and these opportunities along with others can be done remotely to offer even more flexibility to busy law students!
Machine Learning Meet-up
4:00 pm - 6:00 pm
Lewis lounge
Contact: Kristen Bell • krbell@uoregon.edu
Machine Learning Meetup group is part of UO Data Science Initiative. At this Meetup, Prof Bell will be giving a talk about her research that uses machine learning to analyze parole transcripts.
"Maid: Hard Work, Low Pay, and a Mother’s Will to Survive," an evening with New York Times best-selling author Stephanie Land
6:30 pm
Knight Law Center 175
Contact: Rebecca Flynn • rflynn@uoregon.edu
Esca​ping an abusive relationship and moving into a homeless shelter with her baby, Land juggled cleaning jobs to work her way through college, navigating a system of government assistance that often traps people in poverty rather than lifting them out.
Free and open to the public.
Sponsored by the Wayne Morse Center’s Margaret Hallock Program for Women’s Rights. Cosponsored by the UO Division of Equity and Inclusion, Center for the Study of Women in Society, Department of Sociology, and Labor Education Research Center.

Thursday, November 7, 2019

Overcoming Impostor Syndrome
12:00 pm - 1:30 pm
Erb Memorial Union (EMU), EMU 240
Contact: Kata Bahnsen-Reinhardt • kbahnsen@uoregon.edu
Website
This is the fourth of a series of diversity, inclusion, resilience and well being sessions led by Graduate School Director of Diversity and Inclusion, Padma Akkaraju.

The workshops are intended for Graduate Students, including GEs, aiming to provide a safe space for thoughtful engagement. If you are a staff or faculty, we urge you to contact the facilitator, Dr. Padma Akkaraju, to discuss your interests.
Environmental Conflict Resolution
12:00 pm - 1:00 pm
Room 142
Contact: Chelsey Ballot • cballot@uoregon.edu
Come learn about the field of environmental conflict resolution (ECR) and hear from professionals in the field. Intended as a broad introduction, attendees will learn about the utility of ECR, conflict assessment, and conflict progression.
OCDLSA Meeting #5
1:00 pm
Room 241
Contact: Kyle Sample • ksample@uoregon.edu
OCDLSA's fifth bi-monthly meeting
Rivkin Education Workshop with OUTLaws and WLF
4:00 pm - 6:00 pm
Room 110
Contact: Sarah Osborn • sosborn@uoregon.edu
Join OUTLaws and WLF for a workshop about breast and ovarian cancer and educating students on the importance of being an advocate for your own health!

Monday, November 11, 2019

CRES Town Hall
12:00 pm
282
Contact: Sophia Mantheakis • smanthe2@uoregon.edu
Join Conflict and Dispute Resolution Program students, staff, and faculty for department updates, announcements, and discussion on student feedback.

Tuesday, November 12, 2019

Lane County Circuit Court Clerkship Panel
12:00 pm - 1:00 pm
110
Contact: Melissa Panter • mpanter@uoregon.edu
Attention 3L Students - APPLY NOW! Lane County Circuit Court is hiring 15 clerks for one-year, post-graduate clerkship positions that begin August 2020. A judge from Lane County Circuit Court, along with their current Law Clerk, will join us at the Law School to talk to the 3L class about the ins/outs of being a Judicial Clerk and all it entails. It's a great opportunity to meet the faces of Lane County Circuit Court and get answers to any questions you might have.
OLSPIF Phone Call Training
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
241
Contact: Meghan Gross • mgross2@uoregon.edu
We will be showing volunteers how to call and follow up for donation requests.