LRW Faculty

Experienced in Law Practice and Committed to Your Success

The Legal Research and Writing professors at Oregon Law are leaders in the field. Their national reputations are based on innovation in the classroom and passion for teaching. Each brings a strong background in legal practice that can help you succeed.

Listed from left to right in the photo above:

Joan Rocklin: Professor Rocklin’s newest book is An Advocate Persuades. A companion to the successful A Lawyer Writes, the new book addresses persuasive writing.  B.A., magna cum laude, 1993, Williams College; J.D., cum laude, Order of the Coif, 1998, University of Pennsylvania. WebsiteEmail

Rebekah Hanley: Professor Hanley is a dynamic speaker, appearing frequently at national and state conferences.  She is active with the Legal Writing Section of the Association of American Law Schools and the Association of Legal Writing Directors.  In addition, she is currently serving as Conference Co-Chair for the Legal Writing Institute’s 2018 biennial conference. B.A., cum laude, 1996, Yale; J.D., Order of the Coif, 2000, UCLA.  Website • Email

Elizabeth Ruiz Frost: Professor Frost’s most recent article, Feedback Distortion: The Shortcomings of Model Answers As Formative Feedback, was published in the Journal of Legal Education in Spring 2016. She chairs the Diversity Committee for the AALS Section on Legal Writing, Reasoning, and Research and ALWD’s Publications Committee, and served on the program committee for the Legal Writing Institute’s 2016 national conference. B.A., 2002, Yale; J.D., 2006, University of Michigan.  WebsiteEmail

Megan McAlpin: Professor McAlpin is President of the Association of Legal Writing Directors.  She chaired the program committee for the 2015 ALWD national conference, and she was chair for the 2017 conference, which was held at the University of Minnesota. B.A., summa cum laude, 2000, Western Oregon University; J.D., 2003, Willamette University. WebsiteEmail

Suzanne Rowe: Professor Rowe is active in ALWD, LWI, and the AALS Section on Legal Writing, Reasoning, and Research.  She received the 2016 AALS Section Award for her national contributions to legal writing.  Her most recent book is Federal Legal Research (2d ed. 2015).
B.A., with honors, 1983, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; J.D., 1989, Columbia University. WebsiteEmail

Emerita Faculty

Mary S. Lawrence: B.A., 1960, M.A., 1962, Michigan State; J.D., 1977, University of Oregon. Lawrence is a national leader in the LRW field and has received numerous awards recognizing her work. She received the first award for distinguished service given by the Section on Legal Writing of the Association of American Law Schools as well as the inaugural Marjorie Rombauer Award. In January 2013, she received a special award from the boards of both the Association of Legal Writing Directors and the Legal Writing Institute. Also in 2013, she was selected to receive the Burton Award. She is the author of several books and currently serves as Senior Editor for the Journal of the Legal Writing Institute.