Faculty Awards and Honors

Distinguished Faculty Award |  Fund for Faculty ExcellenceSustainability Awards  | Hollis Award Meritorious Service Award | Pillar Award 

The Oregon Law faculty are known for their diverse legal backgrounds and expertise. The law faculty maintains a consistently high reputation for scholarship and teaching among judges, attorneys and other law school professors throughout the Unites States.   

Oregon Law’s faculty have been recognized for several University of Oregon honors and awards. These programs recognize their skills as teachers and innovations in scholarship and research. 

University of Oregon Distinguished Faculty Award 

Each year, the university selects 10 faculty members for the prestigious Distinguished Teaching Awards (Thomas F. Herman Award for Specialized Pedagogy  and the Ersted Award for Distinguished Teaching), the UO’s highest teaching honor. These outstanding faculty members, nominated by students, faculty, and staff, each represent what it means to practice inclusive, engaged, and research-led teaching in their classrooms and alongside their colleagues.  


Michelle McKinley

2019 UO Distinguished Teaching Awards

Sharing a common goal.

"It makes a difference that we are committed to establishing a common goal of reading and understanding a text, discerning where those ideas came from, what work they do for the reader’s understanding of the world, and what the reader will do with those ideas long after they leave my classes or the university."

Michelle McKinley, Thomas F. Herman Award for Specialized Pedagogy in Undergraduate Legal Studies and Bernard B. Kliks Professor of Law


Learn more about McKinley


Thomas F. Herman Award for Specialized Pedagogy  

2019Michelle McKinley, Undergraduate Legal Studies
2016Elizabeth Ruiz Frost, Legal Research and Writing
2014Suzanne Rowe, Legal Writing and Research


Thomas F. Herman Faculty Achievement Award for Distinguished Teaching

1992Dominick Vetri 
1990James Mooney


The Ersted Award for Distinguished Teaching


2012Jennifer W. Reynolds
2006Tom Lininger 
2004Michael L. Moffitt
1994Mary C. Wood 



Fund for Faculty Excellence 

The fund is designed to support the university’s strategic commitment to improve its overall academic quality and reputation by rewarding, recognizing, and retaining nationally competitive faculty who have a record of distinction in their quality of scholarship and creative accomplishment, contribution to their respective field, and contribution to the university. 

2019 Fund for Faculty Excellence Awardees

Erik Girvan
Associate Professor and CRES Faculty Co-Director

Erik Girvan
Girvan is an expert on factors that contribute to discrimination in the legal system and in the context of education. He regularly gives talks and conducts trainings on implicit bias both at the University of Oregon and in the community. Girvan also co-directs the master’s program in conflict resolution and serves on the Dean’s Faculty Advisory Committee and Faculty Appointments Committee for the School of Law.

Elizabeth Tippett
Associate Professor and CRES Faculty Co-Director

Elizabeth Tippett
Tippett’s research primarily focuses on employment law and she is a coauthorof a leading textbook on employment discrimination. Her recent work onthe #MeToo movement and workplace harassment was published in the Minnesota Law Review, which is recognized by legal scholars as a top law review. She has also appeared in media outlets including The Washington Post, BBC, and NPR


2019Erik Girvan, Elizabeth “Liz” Tippett 
2016Stuart Chinn
2014Adell Amos
2013Michelle McKinley
2008Tom Lininger
2007Michael Moffitt



University of Oregon Sustainability Awards  

The sustainability award program recognizes individuals whose contributions deepen our culture of sustainability across a range of institutional activities.  

2019 Innovation Award Recipient


Mary Wood 
Philip H. Knight Professor
Faculty Director, Environmental and Natural Resources Law Center

Wood was selected for developing a legal pathway called Atmospheric Legal Trust Litigation. This new legal theory applies the public trust principal to the current climate emergency – and also makes way for a litigation pathway where citizens can sue their government to force the protection of the vital climate system that supports survival.

“We’re not focused on one small thing here or another small thing there. We’ve got ​​the complete global vision of what scientists say is necessary to save our climate system.”

Watch Wood's interview on Atmospheric Litigation

Mary Wood


2019Mary Wood, Innovation Award



Faculty Excellence in Universal Design Award 

Excellence in Universal Design involves the development of flexible curriculum and instruction to ensure equity and access for all learners.

2019Megan Austin


Oregon Law Orlando John Hollis Outstanding Faculty Teaching Award  

This award is given to the School of Law’s outstanding teacher to reward excellence in classroom instruction.

2019Susan Gary
2018 Megan McAlpin
2017Michelle McKinley
2016Erik Girvan and Dave Frohnmayer (honorary; awarded posthumously) 
2015Joan Rocklin 
2014Michael Fakhri
2013Mohsen Manesh
2012Jennifer Reynolds
2011Tom Lininger 
2010Suzanne Rowe 
2009Adell Amos 
2008Andrea Coles-Bjerre 
2007Robert Tsai 
2006Joseph C. Metcalfe 
2005Carl S. Bjerre  
2004Michael Moffitt 
2003Garrett Epps  
2002Mary C. Wood 
2001Steve Bender 
2000Nancy Shurtz 
1999R. James Mooney  
1998Robin Morris Collin 
1997Dominick Vetri 
1996Margaret Paris
1995Caroline Forell
1994Lisa Kloppenberg
1993David Schuman
1992Fred Merrill
1991Leslie Harris
1990Mary Lawrence


Oregon Law Meritorious Service Award 

This award is given each year at commencement to both faculty and non-faculty members who have made extraordinary contributions to legal education or to the legal profession.  

2019Caroline Forell
2018Margie Paris
2017Leslie Harris 
2016Howard Arnett 
2015Dominick Vetri 
2014The Hon. John Acosta and Dean Emeritus Eugene Scoles 
2013The Hon. David Schuman
2012The Hon. Procter Hug, Jr. 
2011James O’Fallon and The Hon. Martha Walters 
2010Carolyn S. Chambers and Mary S. Lawrence 
2009Merv Loya 
2008Rennard Strickland 
2007The Hon. Dorothy W. Nelson 
2006The Hon. Wallace P. Carson, Jr. and Phyllis Barkhurst 
2005Alice Plymell 
2004The Hon. Ronald L. Wyden and The Hon. Stephen Reinhardt 
2003The Hon. Ellen Rosenblum 
2002Norman J. Wiener and Minoru Yasui 
2001Ray and Lois Ackerman 
2000The Hon. Helen J. Frye 
1999The Hon. Sandra Day O’Connor and Frank Lacy 
1998Hardy Myers
1997Wendell Wyatt 
1996Noreen K. Saltveit and Otto Frohnmayer 
1995Anthony Yturri and Oglesby Young 
1994Arthur C. Johnson and Sidney I. Lezak
1993Jeannette C. Hayner, John L. Luvaas, Eugene F. Scoles
1992John E. Jaqua and Frank E. Nash 
1991Chapin D. Clark 
1990John H. Van Landingham 
1989The Hon. Alfred T. Goodwin and The Hon. Edwin J. Peterson
1988The Hon. Roland K. Rodman, The Hon. Richard L. Unis  
1987Hans A. Linde
1986Richard W. Nahstoll 
1985Kenneth J. O’Connell and Lois I. Baker 
1984Orlando John Hollis and William G. East  


Pillar of the Community Award

Awarded by students, this recognizes faculty who make a positive impact on the Oregon Law community through their leadership, service, example, support of others, and overall contributions that enhance the law school.  

2018-19Roberta Mann
2017-18Joan Rocklin
2016-17Tom Lininger
2015-16Mary Wood
2014-15Margie Paris