About the Legal Research and Writing Program

in the nation
consecutive years
in the top ten

This ranking reflects wide recognition of Oregon Law’s excellent program for students and the national leadership of its faculty.


Our History

Oregon Law's Legal Research and Writing (LRW) Program was established in 1978, making it one of the first in the nation to ensure fundamental lawyering skills were taught by full-time professionals.  The founding director was Professor Emerita Mary Lawrence, who led Oregon’s program until 2000 and whose work continues to have an impact on the national legal writing community today.

Mary S. Lawrence, Founding Director

Mary Lawrence holding flowers in 2018 at the LRW conference

Mary S. Lawrence was a national leader in the LRW field and received numerous awards recognizing her pioneering work. She received the an early award for distinguished service given by the Section on Legal Writing, Reasoning, and Research of the Association of American Law Schools as well as the inaugural Marjorie Rombauer Award. In January 2013, she received a special lifetime achievement award from the boards of both the Association of Legal Writing Directors and the Legal Writing Institute. Also in 2013, she was selected to receive the Burton Award for Outstanding Contributions to Legal Writing Education.

Contact Us

Suzanne Rowe
James L. and llene R. Hershner Professor; Director, Legal Research and Writing Program 
Office: 409H
Email: srowe@uoregon.edu
Phone: 541-346-0507

Mailing Address:
Legal Research and Writing Program
University of Oregon School of Law
1221 University of Oregon
Eugene, OR 97403-1221

Contact LRW