Oregon Law announces 2021-2022 Galen Scholar in Legal Writing: Mindy Wittkop

Mindy Wittkop

Mindy Wittkop has been named the 2021-2022 Oregon Law Galen Scholar in Legal Writing.

Each year, the LRW Program awards a stipend to an Oregon Law faculty member who will work through the year to promote excellence in student writing and enhance student writing opportunities. Many of the Galen Scholars’ contributions have become valued and permanent features of the legal writing landscape at Oregon Law.

In her role as the Galen Scholar, Wittkop will study and apply techniques for advancing professional writing in a clinic setting. Her work will link legal writing and clinical learning to help students produce professional work product and communications, with a particular emphasis on the transactional Business Law Clinic. The project enhances partnership and collaboration between law clinics and the Legal Research and Writing (LRW) Program, with the goal of improving students’ transference of their LRW skills to a variety of real-client situations. 

Wittkop is the director, a supervising attorney, and instructor in the Business Law Clinic. She works with the Honorable Jolie Russo to oversee Oregon Law's Judicial Field Placement Program. She also coordinates the law school’s 1L fellowship program.

Prior to joining the law school, she was an attorney for 12 years with the local firm Gartland, Nelson, McCleery, Wade & Walloch P.C. Her practice emphasized business transactions, real estate, creditor's rights, and litigation. She began her career as a clerk for the Honorable David V. Brewer. Wittkop is a graduate of the University of Oregon School of Law. She is also a past-president of the Lane County Bar Association and a past-president and a member of the law school's alumni association board.

“I am honored to be selected as the law school’s next Galen Scholar in Legal Writing and thrilled to be able to collaborate with my legal research and writing colleagues to advance students’ research and writing skills in a clinic setting,” said Wittkop.

Mindy Wittkop joins Oregon Law’s impressive list of past Galen Scholars: Elizabeth Ruiz Frost, Michelle McKinley, Rebekah Hanley, Megan McAlpin, and Michael Fakhri.

The Galen Scholar in Legal Writing appointment is made possible thanks to generous support from our donors, particularly alumnus Morris Galen ‘50. Visit the website to learn more about the Galen Endowment for the Advancement of Legal Writing and its impact on legal writing education at Oregon Law.