LRW Faculty

Experienced in Law Practice and Committed to Your Success

The Legal Research and Writing professors at Oregon Law are leaders in the field. Their national reputations are based on innovation in the classroom and passion for teaching. Each brings a strong background in legal practice that can help you succeed.

Listed from left to right in the photo above:

Joan Rocklin: Professor Rocklin’s newest book is An Advocate Persuades. A companion to the successful A Lawyer Writes, the new book addresses persuasive writing.  B.A., magna cum laude, 1993, Williams College; J.D., cum laude, Order of the Coif, 1998, University of Pennsylvania. WebsiteEmail

Rebekah Hanley: Professor Hanley is a dynamic speaker, appearing frequently at national and state conferences.  She is active with the Legal Writing Section of the Association of American Law Schools and the Association of Legal Writing Directors.  In addition, she is currently serving as Conference Co-Chair for the Legal Writing Institute’s 2018 biennial conference. B.A., cum laude, 1996, Yale; J.D., Order of the Coif, 2000, UCLA.  Website • Email

Elizabeth Ruiz Frost: Professor Frost’s most recent article, Failure Begets Failure, will be published in the Stetson Law Review in Fall 2018. She chairs the Diversity Committee for the AALS Section on Legal Writing, Reasoning, and Research and ALWD’s Publications Committee, and she serves on the editorial board for the Journal of the Legal Writing Institute.. B.A., 2002, Yale; J.D., 2006, University of Michigan. WebsiteEmail

Megan McAlpin: Professor McAlpin is the Immediate Past President of the Association of Legal Writing Directors (ALWD).  She has served nationally with ALWD for years, including serving as the chair for the 2017 ALWD conference.  Professor McAlpin is currently developing and serving as the inaugural director of Oregon Law's Academic Excellence Program. B.A., summa cum laude, 2000, Western Oregon University; J.D., 2003, Willamette University. WebsiteEmail

Suzanne Rowe: Professor Rowe has held leadership positions in LWI, ALWD, and the AALS Section on Legal Writing, Reasoning, and Research.  She led the development of Writing Connections, new programming by and for legal writing faculty, at the 2018 SEALS conference.  Her latest book is Oregon Legal Research (4th ed. 2018 with Megan Austin). B.A., with honors, 1983, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; J.D., 1989, Columbia University. WebsiteEmail

Emerita Faculty

Mary S. Lawrence: Lawrence is a national leader in the LRW field and has received numerous awards recognizing her work. She received the first award for distinguished service given by the Section on Legal Writing of the Association of American Law Schools as well as the inaugural Marjorie Rombauer Award. In January 2013, she received a special award from the boards of both the Association of Legal Writing Directors and the Legal Writing Institute. Also in 2013, she was selected to receive the Burton Award. She is the author of several books and currently serves as Senior Editor for the Journal of the Legal Writing Institute. B.A., 1960, M.A., 1962, Michigan State; J.D., 1977, University of Oregon.