grey and black header for the Frohnmayer award with golden seal

Frohnmayer Award for Public Service

About the Award

The Frohnmayer Award for Public Service, given annually in Portland since 2002 by the Law School Alumni Association, was named in honor of the family of University of Oregon President Emeritus and Law Professor Dave Frohnmayer. The award recognizes a graduate, faculty member, or friend of Oregon Law whose public service brings honor to the school.

The 19th Annual Frohnmayer Award

Now accepting nominations!


Make a nomination


On Friday, April 8, 2022, we welcomed members of the Oregon Law community to celebrate the 18th Annual Frohnmayer Award recipient.

2022 Frohnmayer Award photos



Contact for more information about sponsorship opportunities for the 2023 Frohnmayer Award for Public Service Reception.

 The Honorable John V. Acosta

The 18th Annual Frohnmayer Award honors Judge John V. Acosta, Class of 1982.

Acosta is a magistrate judge for the United States District of Oregon. His commitment to public service has been demonstrated through his work and leadership with the Oregon State Bar to advance the professionalism, equality and efficiency of Oregon's judicial branch of government. He is also dedicated to assisting new lawyers with the transition to practicing law in Oregon. Acosta has been active in the community through service on the boards of several nonprofit social services organizations, participating as a member of legal professional associations, and coaching high school mock trial students, among other volunteer activities. 


Judge John V. Acosta

He is truly empathetic, caring, compassionate, and the epitome of a role model. He goes above and beyond in every way. We are all fortunate to be in community with this great man and leader.”

“Judge Acosta consistently seeks out students of color, women, and students from disadvantaged or nontraditional backgrounds, mentoring them and encouraging them to be externs in his chambers.  His mentorship is comprehensive; he supports students in whatever ways will benefit their professional growth—whether in their analysis, writing, or personal interactions.  He invests and believes in students on an individual basis, allowing him to make a tremendous difference in their entrance to the profession.”

“Judge Acosta honors diversity in our communities.  And he has worked to make the legal profession more welcoming for women and diverse lawyers and law students through his volunteer work with specialty bar organizations, the Federal Bar Association, OLIO, and the Oregon State Bar. “

“Judge Acosta has been a mentor to many UO law students, especially students of color. He takes every opportunity to guide students that seek his help.”

Event Sponsors:



Presenting Sponsors

Miller Nash
Law School Alumni Association 
Stoel Rives LLP


Miller Nash ​​​​​​ UO Law School Alumni Association




Public Service Advocate

Barran Liebman LLP
Jackson Lewis
Schwabe Williamson & Wyatt


Barran Liebman


Jackson Lewis


Schwabe Williamson & Wyatt




Public Service Supporter

Dunn Carney LLP
Lane Powell


Dunn Carney LLP


Lane Powell


Past Honorees

Year Honoree
2019 Jeffrey Beaver '85
2018 David F. Bartz, Jr. '82
2017 Judge Nan Waller '79
2016 Senator Ron Wyden '74
2014 Honorable David Schuman '84
2013 Hon. Martha Walters '77 and John VanLandingham '77 
2012 Michael Schrunk '67 
2011 Duncan Campbell '73 
2010 Ellen Rosenblum '75 and Richard Meeker '74 
2009 Barbara Aldave 
2008 Edwin Peterson '57
2007 Hans Linde
2006 Clifford Freeman '76 
2005 Lawrence "Lare" Aschenbrenner '57 
2004 Alfred "Ted" Goodwin '51 
2003 Hardy Myers '64 
2002 Dave Frohnmayer