News and Features

Oregon Law Assistant Professor Andy Winden was recently named as the 2024 Orlando John Hollis Outstanding Faculty Teaching Award recipient.
The University of Oregon School of Law has named Judge Mustafa T. Kasubhai ’JD 96 as the recipient of the 2024 Frohnmayer Award for Public Service.
Oregon Law is currently housing an exhibit of 27 big, bold metal prints by professional landscape photographer Mike Putnam that explore Oregon’s freshwater and waterways.
2L Clark Barlowe won The Closer 2024, a pre-eminent transactional law competition hosted by Baylor Law in Waco, Texas. The eighth-annual, multi-day event took place during the period of January 11-14, 2024.
Oregon Law’s Rebekah Hanley joined a December roundtable discussion of artificial intelligence hosted by Oregon Business magazine.
Former Oregon Chief Justice Edwin J. Peterson, BA ’51, LLB ’57 died earlier this month in Salem, leaving behind a legacy of modernizing the courts system and shedding light on racial and ethnic bias issues in the judicial system in need of reform. He was 93. Appointed by Governor Vic Atiyeh in 1979, Peterson was elected to the Oregon Supreme Court three times, before retiring in 1993.
We are saddened to learn of the passing of Justice Sandra Day O’Connor, and we celebrate her impactful legacy. Oregon Law welcomed Justice O’Connor on September 15, 1999, to dedicate the new William W. Knight Law Center.
The Annual O'Connell Conference took place on September 22, 2023. Recordings of each session are now live.
The Consumer Protection Research Grant program is offering funding for consumer-related research projects to support the examination of consumer issues in Oregon.
Please join Oregon Law's Environmental and Natural Resources Law Center and cross-campus partners for the 17th Annual Rennard Strickland Lecture this fall! The free and public lecture will begin at 6:00 PM on Tuesday, October 24, 2023. Join in-person in Room 175 of the William W.