Calendar


October 2019
SMTWTFS
29 30 1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31 1 2

 
 Submit an Event


Tuesday, October 15, 2019

SELF Meeting
12:00 pm - 1:00 pm
141
Contact: Jack Mannis • jmannis@uoregon.edu
Bi-Weekly SELF Meeting
Democratic Debate Watch Party
5:00 pm
110
Contact: Ryan Kay • rkay@uoregon.edu
A night to gather together to enjoy politics, snacks, and civil discourse on the big screen. Feel free to stop by to watch the entire debate, or just catch a bit as a study break.
"Disaster Resilience: How We Get There," featuring Wayne Morse Chair for Law and Politics Dr. Lucy Jones (Caltech)
6:30 pm
EMU Ballroom
Contact: Rebecca Flynn • rflynn@uoregon.edu
As the planet warms, we face increased risk from hotter and longer wildfire seasons, more intense storms, drought, flooding, and more. In the Northwest, we live with the reality of the looming Cascadia earthquake. Dr. Lucy Jones seeks to increase communities’ ability to adapt and be resilient to the dynamic changes of the world around them.

Part of the Wayne Morse Center's two-year inquiry into Science, Policy and the Public.

Free and open to the public.

Wednesday, October 16, 2019

Student Org Leaders Meeting with Dean Espinola
12:00 pm - 1:00 pm
Room 282
Contact: Jennifer Espinola • espinola@uoregon.edu
Student organization leaders are invited to dialogue with Dean Espinola and Chris Esparza about student organization issues related to event planning and the 1L experience.
Asian Pacific American Law Student Association (APALSA) Lunchtime Meeting
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
Room 281
Contact: Rachelle Collins • rcollin2@uoregon.edu
Lunchtime check in - get to know APALSA and plan for upcoming events,

For all APALSA members and APA students.

Thursday, October 17, 2019

Shake It Up: What you need to know about the looming Cascade earthquake, featuring a discussion by seismologists Dr. Lucy Jones (Caltech) and Prof. Doug Toomey (UO Earth Sciences), as well as Krista Dillon (UO Safety and Risk Services).
9:30 am
EMU Crater Lake rooms
Contact: Rebecca Flynn • rflynn@uoregon.edu
This a training specifically for UO students, faculty, and staff.
Participants will learn what the Cascade Subduction Zone quake might feel like, what kind of damage is expected, and how they can take steps to be more prepared on campus and at home. Includes a brief “drop, cover and hold” drill as part of the Great Oregon ShakeOut.

Sponsored by the Wayne Morse Center for Law and Politics, UO Safety and Risk Services, and the Department of Earth Sciences.

UO employees can sign up for the training on MyTrack; students do not need to register.
OLSPIF Envelope Stuffing
12:00 pm - 1:00 pm
281
Contact: Meghan Gross • mgross2@uoregon.edu
We will be preparing the letters to send to potential sponsors and donors.
Tips for Success, Well-Being and Resilience Building
12:00 pm - 1:30 pm
Lokey Education Building ED 276
Contact: Kata Bahnsen-Reinhardt • kbahnsen@uoregon.edu
Website
This is the first of a series of resilience and well being sessions led by Graduate School Director of Diversity and Inclusion, Padma Akkaraju. RSVP here - https://oregon.qualtrics.com/jfe/form/SV_cuX4e4NMTInv4t7
Oregon Law Commission Meeting and Reception
3:00 pm - 6:00 pm
Lewis Lounge
Contact: Debbie Thurman • dthurman@uoregon.edu
Open to all Oregon Law Faculty and Staff.

Oregon Law Commission Meeting: 3 - 4:15 p.m.
Reception: 4:30 - 6 p.m. Lewis Lounge

R.S.V.P. dthurman@uoregon.edu

Friday, October 18, 2019

Oregon Law Commission Advisory Board Meeting
11:00 am - 12:00 pm
Lewis Lounge
Contact: Debbie Thurman • dthurman@uoregon.edu
Meeting of the Oregon Law Commission Advisory Board
The Art of the Possible
12:00 pm
Wayne L. Morse U.S. Courthouse, Eugene, OR
Contact: Rebecca Ivanoff • rivanoff@uoregon.edu
The Art of the Possible is a half-day program designed to encourage law students and new lawyers to think courageously and creatively about their career paths. This program is a collaboration between Oregon Law’s Career Center, the Women’s Law Forum, Lane County Women Lawyers, the Federal Bar Association, and the U.S. District Court. Additional event details TBA.