Galen Scholar in Legal Writing

One of the primary initiatives of the Galen Fund is to support faculty serving as the Galen Scholar in Legal Writing.  Each year, the LRW Program awards a substantial stipend to a faculty member for developing projects for a particular theme.  Many of the Galen Scholars' contributions have become valued and permanent fixtures in the legal writing landscape at Oregon Law.

The 2018-20 Galen Scholar is LRW Professor Elizabeth Ruiz Frost.  Her research will enable her to develop curriculum to address reading comprehension deficits in adult learners, recognizing that careful reading is required for accurate writing.  In addition, Professor Frost will continue leading two sessions that she developed in 2017-18 as the school’s Writing Specialist:  Throwback Thursday builds fundamental skills by reviewing discrete points of grammar, punctuation, and proofreading.  Just Write provides three-hour blocks of focused time for major writing projects. 

This is the second time Professor Frost has been selected as Galen Scholar.  As the inaugural recipient, she instituted writing awards for first-year and upper-level students that are given each year.  Prior scholars include Professor Michelle McKinley (who studied the upper-level writing requirement),  Professor Rebekah Hanley (who revised the ethics course to include professional writing), Professor Megan McAlpin (who served as the school’s first Writing Specialist), and Professor Michael Fakhri (who created writing curriculum for the school’s law journals).